Nominations Report on the 2023 -2027 ROMA Board of Directors Elections

It is my pleasure to submit a copy of the report on the candidates standing for election for the 2023 – 2027 ROMA Board of Directors, as confirmed by the Chief Returning Officer (CRO). The CRO has confirmed candidates against the nomination requirements and processes.

Elections will be held in Zones 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, and 10. With one nomination received, the representative for Zone 8 is acclaimed. Zone 7 remains vacant and will be filled by a process determined by the 2023-2027 ROMA Board of Directors.

Note: The Nominations Report was first sent out to all Heads and Members of Council on Tuesday, January 3, 2023. The report has been updated as of Friday, January 6, 2023 to reflect withdrawals received prior to the withdrawal deadline on January 6, at 12:00 pm. 

The updated report includes one additional candidate for Zone 9 since the report was sent January 3, 2023. This nomination was filed in accordance with the ROMA nomination process and has been certified for the election by the Chief Returning Officer (CRO) but was missed from inclusion in the original Nomination Report. Zone 9 candidates were informed of the omission as soon as the error was identified.

Election Process
Voting will take place on Monday, January 23, 2023, 10:00 am – 3:00 pm. Voting will be conducted in person in the Grand Ballroom Foyer (Lower Level), Sheraton Centre Hotel, outside the Plenary Hall.

All elected officials from AMO-member municipalities who are delegates to the ROMA Annual Conference, are eligible to vote for candidates in their zone. A zone map is available here. A delegate’s zone will also appear on their delegate badge.

Meet the Zone Candidates
2023 is a ROMA Board Election Year! After picking up your delegate badge at the Registration Booth, attend your zone meeting to hear from your Board candidates on Sunday, January 22, 2023 at 11:30 am – 12:15 pm.
Zone 1 - Provincial Ballroom North
Zone 2 - Osgood Ballroom East
Zone 3 - Simcoe/Dufferin
Zone 4 - City Hall
Zone 5 - Dominion Ballroom South
Zone 6 - Civic Ballroom South
Zone 9 - Dominion Ballroom North
Zone 10 - Provincial Ballroom South
Note: Zones 7 and 8 are not holding elections.

The CRO will announce the results of the election on Monday, January 23, 2023 during the afternoon main stage programming in the Plenary Hall.    

Brian Rosborough, Executive Director, AMO